The Dinner Party

The Dinner Party is a major fundraiser to raise awareness and support for two important charities: Sexual Assault and Violence Intervention Services Halton (SAVIS) and Canadian Women for Women in Afghanistan. All profits raised through ticket sales, silent auction and 50/50 draw are solely dedicated to supporting these two groups. Since inception, The Dinner Party has raised approximately $500,000.

The great sense of community surrounding this event is unparalleled, as it is attended by a diversified crowd, has a high profile and receives significant local media coverage.  Many attendees return year after year to enjoy the camaraderie and listen to speakers such as Michele Landsberg, Dr. Lauryn Oates, Dr. Samantha Nutt, Sally Armstrong, Dr. Janet Morrison, Roberta Jamieson, Irshad Manji, Arlene Dickinson, Deborah Ellis, Sheila Copps, Nancy Riche, Paula Todd, Joy Warner, Shae Invidiata, Donna Kennedy, Mary Walsh, Candy Palmater and Tanya Tagaq.

This successful annual event is solely organized by dedicated and hardworking volunteers.  They are responsible for event management, donations and sponsorship outreach, program development, ticket sales, silent auction, draw and publicity.  Many of the volunteers have been involved since inception.


History of The Dinner Party

After hosting a successful celebration of International Women’s Day (IWD) for three years as an after dinner event, The Women of Halton Action Movement (WHAM) expanded the celebration with the creation of The Dinner Party in honor of IWD in 2003. The Dinner Party is now a gathering of over 600 people coming together to shine a light on important issues related to gender equality. It is an entertaining, informative, fun, and affordable evening in celebration of IWD.

The Organizers -- WHAM

Women of Halton Action Movement is a local, grassroots, nonpartisan, feminist lobby organization that has advocated since 1981 to improve the status of women locally, nationally, and internationally. WHAM is a member of AWH, Advancement of Women Halton, a collaborative of almost 30 groups supporting gender equality at all levels of government. Contact us at:
IWD Committee 2022:
Barbara Wood (chair) Beth Higginson, Beth Robertson, Bev LeFrancois, Callie Archer, Daniela Jansson, Donna Hall-Clark, Judy Rivard, Karyn Byrne, Kathy Mason, Linda Middaugh, Mary Taylor, Shelagh Nuttall

Copyright © The Dinner Party | International Women’s Day 2016.

Oakville, On • P (905) 825-3622 • E


Powered by: The Dinner Party v131119